Joost Michielsen wins ARVES solving day

The fifth edition of the ARVES study solving day was held this year as usual during the Tata Steel tournament, however, for the first time, out of the official program  due to the painful budget cut.
Nevertheless ARVES (The Dutch-Flemisch society for the art of the endgame study) and Probleemblad (The Dutch chess problem association) had a different idea and both study solving and the International Solving Competition were held after all in the last weekend of January to maintain the continuity of this fine tradition even in a period of global crisis.

The schedule allowed the participants a visit in De Moriaan to watch the penultimate round of the super tournament and follow the games of world top grandmasters. The new location- De Rel, a leisure and cultural centre in the village, hosted both events with the invaluable assistance of Saskia Scheffer and Matthieu Niesten, the hospitable organizing team in the venue. Tata Steel chess still offered its assistance providing the equipment and online publicity.  

16 solvers (of which four were debutants) competed in the study solving: 15 were Dutchmen and one “foreigner” (though quite an important one!) – Belgian Marcel van Herck who is by no coincidence also the treasurer of both ARVES and Probleemblad. No special guests were invited and still the field proved strong enough with four over the board International Masters (who happened to seize all top positions) as well as members of the Dutch national solving team Dolf Wissmann and Hans Uitenbroek.

The competitors were confronted with 9 original studies provided by Jan Timman, Yochanan Afek, Jorden van Foreest and Jürgen Fleck The last two studies proved too hard nuts for the entire field. The final results introduced a new winner: young IM Joost Michielsen.  
IMs Piet Peelen and David Klein (the former -winner in 2012) were runners up while IM Twan Burg (winner of the first 2009 edition) had to settle for the fourth place.

Final standings: 1. Joost Michielsen 29 (max. 45)
2. Piet Peelen & David Klein 25
4. Twan Burg 23
5. Wouter van Rijn 23
6. Willem van Briemen 22
7. Harold van der Heijden & Hans Uiterbroek 16
9. Marcel van Herck en Dinard van der Laan 15
11. Gerd Reichardt 14
12. Eric Fraikin 13
13. Dolf Wissman 10
14. René Olthof 9
15. Harm Benak 6
16. Joey Hendriks 2

Tourney organizer and director was Yochanan Afek  while Chief arbiter was Luc Palmans, chairman of ARVES.

Photo's by René Olthof.


Posted: January 27 - 2014


Aanvullende gegevens